Chapbook Launch Party!

Please join us for the Frontier Poetry Chapbook Launch Party!

Wednesday, July 24, 2024 at 4-5pm PDT / 5-6pm MDT / 6-7pm CDT / 7-8pm EDT

 

Come celebrate the release of Kathryn Hargett-Hsu’s debut chapbook, Good Listener

Selected by Guest Judge Kemi Alabi as the winner of Frontier Poetry’s 2023 Breakthrough Chapbook Contest, Good Listener is a vivid and inventive collection of poetry that navigates ones identity with the past, the self, and the world. These poems combine irresistible imagery with unexpected language to take the reader on an expedition through time and space with the landscape of delicate and deliberate form. In this collection, each poem is a story, a lifetime, a magic show.

 

Join us for an evening of celebration with readings from Guest Judge Kemi Alabi and Breakthrough Chapbook Contest Winner Kathryn Hargett-Hsu! We hope to have time for a quick Q&A with these authors as well!

Following this launch, you can download and read the whole chapbook for free on Frontier Poetry

 

This event will be held virtually over Zoom. You can register by clicking the submit button below.

(Add a reminder to your calendar here.)

We’ll also be hosting a giveaway of a physical copy of Good Listener during the launch party!

 

About the poets: 

Kathryn Hargett-Hsu received her MFA in Writing from Washington University in St. Louis. Born and raised in Alabama, she is the recipient of fellowships from Kundiman, Disquiet International, Fine Arts Work Center, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, Bucknell Seminar for Undergraduate Poets, and Mendocino Coast Writers’ Conference. Most recently, she received the Academy of American Poets Prize and the Lynda Hull Memorial Prize. Find her in Poetry Daily, Best New Poets, Pleiades, The Hopkins Review, MQR Mixtape, swamp pink, Sixth Finch, Diode Poetry Journal, Arts & Letters, Muzzle Magazine, The Margins, Hayden’s Ferry Review, The Adroit Journal, and elsewhere. 

Kemi Alabi is the author of Against Heaven (Graywolf Press, 2022), selected by Claudia Rankine as winner of the Academy of American Poets First Book Award. The collection was a Kate Tufts Discovery Award finalist, Chicago Review of Books Award winner, and one of New York Public Library’s Best Books of 2022. Alabi’s poems appear in The Atlantic, The Nation, Poetry, Boston Review, and Best New Poets. A Periplus Collective mentor, Alabi has received fellowships from MacDowell, Civitella Ranieri, and elsewhere. As Head of Creativity & Impact of the gender justice organization Forward Together, Alabi builds cultural power with organizers and artists. They’re coeditor of The Echoing Ida Collection (Feminist Press, 2021), an anthology of Black reproductive justice writing. Born in Wisconsin on a Sunday in July, they now live in Chicago, IL. Find Kemi on Twitter @kemiaalabi. 


Editor in Chief Michaela Emerson will moderate this event.


submit

Close Menu