The Award for New Poets — Winners!

Congratulations to the winners of Frontier Poetry’s Award for New Poets and an enormous thanks to everyone who submitted. We saw an incredible number of submissions and the quality of writing was extraordinary. Thank you, also, for your patience while we reviewed the work. A BIG round of applause to the following three poets, whose work we will publish on Frontier Poetry and have earned the respect and recognition of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize winner, Tyehimba Jess. Todd Smith, our winner, will receive the $2000 prize. Second and Third place will receive $300 and $200 respectively.



First Place

“Souvenir” by Todd Smith

Second Place

“Love poem with a knife” by Kara Jackson

Third Place

“deciduous qween IV” by Matty Layne Glasgow


Honorable mentions:

“Undone” by Brionne Janae

“the neighbor’s house” by Benjamin Hertwig

Close Menu